Trotskyist Miler of the Year – the results



Many thanks to everyone who took part in this year’s race to establish the fastest Trotskyist in Britain.

From the start, it was clear that the winner would be one of Soren Goard or Sam Jam. Fifty metres ahead of the rest of the field after only a single lap, they swapped the lead thereafter, with Sam ahead at 400 and 800 metres (1.13 and 2.46 to Soren’s 1.14 and 2.47) and Soren ahead at the bell (by just 4.25 to Sam’s 4.26).

Sam, pictured without top and holding the coveted, “Trotskyist miler of the year” tankard, then ran a devastating last lap of just 66 seconds to close in 5.32 (leaving Soren trailing by 11 seconds).

In the race of the remaining crocks and 30- or 40-somethings, Mark Bergfeld was initially the clear leader, finishing the first 400 metres comfortably ahead in 1 minute 23 second, with Robin Burrett 10 seconds behind him, myself eight seconds further back in 1.41 and John Game holding on in 1.50.

Mark claims to have then felt a sudden injury (this was his second race of the day), slowing with laps of 1.37, 1.40 and 1.34 to finish in 6 minutes and 14 seconds.

Robin too slowed down (later blaming a hangover) with laps of 1.55, 1.56 and 1.35, to finish in 7 minutes and 9 seconds.

John’s remaining laps were 2.17, 2.22 and 2.30; he swept home in 9 minutes 9 seconds.

Thanks to Lois and Jaz for pictures and timings.

Afterwards the competitors relaxed over a healthy lunch of kebabs, plotting the next stage of the world revolution.

Final placings:

S. Jam (ISN) 5.32

S. Goard (Posadist) 5.43

D. Renton (Toffskyist) 6.08

M. Bergfeld (SWP) 6.14

R. Burrett (SWP) 7.09

J. Game (ISN) 9.09

Forwards to the Trotskyist Miler 2014!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s